Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

American Gold Star Mothers, Inc.

Annual Convention

On June 27th, the first ever Virtual Business meeting was held for American Gold Star Mothers, Inc. Despite the many wonderful plans for the Convention to be held at Virginia Beach, VA, COVID-19 had other plans. It was not possible to hold a physical Convention in Virginia with the many restrictions in place, so the National Executive Board began working a few months ago to have a virtual meeting.

In the past, world events also changed the annual convention for AGSM. During WWII, the Convention was not held and the serving officers had to continue to serve. In fact, the National President passed away before they could hold a convention in those four years.

The NEB was fortunate to have Tiffany Powely from Dell help set up the ZOOM meeting, training sessions and “Happy Hour” following the Virtual meeting. Tiffany has volunteered her time for AGSM previously.

The all day meeting on the 27th fulfilled the requirements dictated in the C&BL by taking care of the necessary business. Reports were given, officers elected and there was voting on proposed amendments. The devoted preparations and hard work of the NEB was evident. The #3 proposed amendment passed and #1 and #2 failed. The third amendment dealt with the election of Chapter Officers so it would align with the Department and National Officer elections.

Two highlights of the Virtual meeting were the Memorial Video in the beginning and the Fallen Hero Tribute following the adjournment. Each was very touching.

Much appreciation should go to the 2019-2020 NEB and the leadership of Mona Gunn. Congratulations to the 2020-2021 NEB. Elected were: Cindy Tatum- President, Jo Ann Maitland-1st Vice President, Sarah Taylor- 2nd Vice President, Secretary- Ginger Emerson, Treasurer-Carol Resh, Sgt-At-Arms-Theresa Bullock, Chaplain-Elaine Brattain, Flag Bearer-Patti Elliott, Banner Guard- Lee Ann Forsythe and National Service Officer-Pam Stemple.

NM received a Certificate of Appreciation for 2nd in mileage!

WAY TO GO NM GSM ladies!